For the keen shopper, Clevedon has many very attractive specialist shops along Hill Road, Alexandra Road and a good mix of shops around The Triangle.
There are also many smaller local shops distributed throughout the town – Old Church Road, West End and Six Ways. Souvenir shops and tearooms can be found along Beach Road and in the Salthouse Fields area.
Clevedon Court is one of the oldest manor houses in England dating from the 14th century. It was built by Sir John de Clevedon incorporating parts of a 13th century tower and great hall. This once fortified manor house has now been the home of the Elton Family since 1709.
The Elton’s played a large part in the development of Clevedon from a small farming community to a select Victorian resort. Through Sir Charles Elton, the poets Tennyson and Thackeray came to know Clevedon, and his grandson, Sir Edmund, was the maker and designer of Elton Ware pottery. Clevedon Court, located on Tickenham Road, displays the Elton Ware pottery
collection and Elton Ware decorates the Clock Tower in the Triangle.
Clevedon Court is now owned by the National Trust, it is open to the public on certain days of the week from Easter – end of September (Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday 2pm – 5pm).
Clevedon Court, Tickenham Rd, Clevedon. Tel: (01275) 872257
Website: Clevedon Court-National Trust
CLEVEDON PIER AND TOLL HOUSE
Clevedon Pier is one of the most important Victorian Piers in the country. The Grade 1 listed pier dates from 1869 and is recognised as one of the finest in the country and a national monument. It was constructed from eight spans made of curved Barlow rails from Brunel’s surplus material from the South Wales railway. The Waverley paddle steamer and her sister ship, the Balmoral pleasure cruiser are frequent callers at the pier during the summer months. Take a walk along the pier and enjoy a cream tea on the pavilion, absorbing views of the Welsh coast. The Toll House comprises a gift shop and a gallery on the first floor, where the work of a number of local artists is exhibited throughout the year. The Pier and Toll House are open everyday of the year except Christmas day. A small admission fee is charged to go on the pier to help with the upkeep of the pier. The tidal range at Clevedon is the second highest in the world, with a rise of over 47 feet from low water on Spring Tides. WARNING – strong tides.
The Toll House, The Beach, Clevedon. Tel: (01275) 878846
THE BALMORAL AND THE WAVERLEY
The Waverley is the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world, magnificently restored with towering funnels, timber decks, gleaming varnish and brass. See and hear the mighty engines – they will provide a whiff of nostalgia for some and are sure to impress all. The Balmoral is a beautifully maintained pleasure cruiser with restored period lounges and unrivalled access to the stunning scenery of some of the most picturesque parts of the UK’s coastline.
CLEVEDON CRAFT CENTRE
Housed in a 17th century farm building, Clevedon Craft Centre is a must see for any visitor. Enjoy watching jewellery being made, leatherwork, painting and pottery or even feed the farm ducks, chicken and geese. The centre is a free all year round attraction with plenty to see and do. The many varied crafts provide an opportunity to purchase craftwork of the highest quality directly from the designer makers themselves. Open during the day from Tuesday to Saturday, and Sunday afternoons, the Craft Centre is located on Moor Lane, on the outskirts of Clevedon.
Clevedon Craft Centre, Moor Lane, Clevedon. Tel: (01275) 342114
CLEVEDON WALKS AND PARKS
Clevedon’s fine coastal walks offer stunning views which have inspired many great poets and writers including Tennyson, Thackeray and Coleridge. The popular coastal route that starts near Marine Lake and goes up into woodland before stretching out on the coast above with excellent sea views. The walk with its views of the Bristol Channel and Wales is said to have inspired the poets.
Coastal Path – Clevedon to Portishead
(Ladye Bay to Redcliffe Bay)
Taste the sea air with this walk along the coast. Stop at the many rock ‘balconies’ by the sea and rock pools. Surface: firm, narrow in places. Obstacles: caution – steep drops from the path and rocks. Parking: on-street parking in Bay Road, Clevedon.
Clevedon Court Woods
Climb through evergreen oak woods to discover caves and rocky outcrops. Paths loop round the contours and there is always something new to discover around the corner like the woodman’s cottage or the limestone seats. Surface: woodland paths. Obstacles: some step paths and gates. Parking: All Saints Lane, Clevedon or Hill Lane, Tickenham.
Parks and Gardens
These are situated at Alexandra Road, Herbert Road, Princes Road and Pier Copse off The Beach and opposite the Pier. Pier Copse also has a garden for the blind.
Ladye Bay is a lovely, secluded cove much loved by visitors, approached by the coastal path beyond the Pier known as Lovers’ Walk, or by steps leading down from Bay Road.
Clevedon’s playground where many residents and visitors come to relax. There’s a miniature railway, children’s playground, bouncy castle, crazy golf, tennis courts, and refreshment kiosk. Donkey rides are often available during the summer.
Built in 1887 by William Green, the Bandstand was lit by gas and originally had no windshields, these were added later to protect bandsmen and improve acoustics. Listening to one of the many bands who play in the summer months brings a quality of a time long ago.
Opened in 1912, Curzon cinema is the oldest, continuously operated cinema in the country, the original building had 200 seats. By the following year the building had been expanded to 389 seats, and was the first public building in the town to have electricity.The cinema was saved from closure in 1996 largely thanks to community support and is now run and owned by the Clevedon community.
Today Curzon Cinema is still a popular venue for new film releases with at least one viewing daily, more during school holidays, as well as special events showing Silent Movies or Golden Oldies organised by the Film Club